[The JRB Daily] 2021 South African Literary Awards winners announced

The winners of the 2021 South African Literary Awards have been announced.

The winning writers were announced in a virtual ceremony on 7 November 2021, the 30th International African Writers Day.

Now in their sixteenth year, the SALAs are awarded annually by the wRite Associates and the Department of Arts and Culture to celebrate literary excellence in all the languages of South Africa.

The prize seeks to

pay tribute to South African writers who have distinguished themselves as groundbreaking producers and creators of literature, while celebrating literary excellence in the depiction and sharing of South Africa’s histories, value systems, philosophies and art as inscribed and preserved in all the official languages of South Africa.

2021 South African Literary Awards winners

Children’s Literature Award

  • André Trantraal, Keegan & Samier: Die sokker-fiasko (Afrikaans)

Youth Literature Award

  • Kobate John Sekele, Mararankodi mafelelo (Sepedi)
  • Pamela Newham, The Boy and the Poacher’s Moon (English)
  • Sipho Richard Kekezwa, Ubomi, ungancama! (isiXhosa)

First-Time Published Author Award

  • Reŝoketŝwe Manenzhe, Scatterlings (English)
  • Lynthia Julius, Uit die kroes (Afrikaans)

K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award

  • Lihle Sokapase, Yapatyalaka Ibhobhile (isiXhosa)
  • Karen Jennings, An Island (English)
  • Brian Fredericks, As die Cape Flats kon praat (Afrikaans)

Poetry Award

  • Tshepiso Makgoloane, Tša maAfrika (Sepedi)
  • Johann de Lange, Die meeste sterre is lankal dood (Afrikaans)
  • Ayanda Billie, KwaNobuhle Overcast (English)
  • Kgwadi Kgwadi Gladwell, Ithuteng Mogolokwane (Setswana)
  • Babalwa Fatyi, Hlahl’indlela Nohombile (isiXhosa)
  • Nndanduleni Mulaudzi, Khonadzeo (Tshivenda)

Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award

  • Nakanjani Sibiya, The Reluctant Storyteller: A Collection of Stories (English)
  • Madoda Ndlakuse, Mhla latsh’ iBhayi (isiXhosa)

Creative Non-Fiction Award

  • Sabata-mpho Mokae and Brian Willan, Sol T Plaatje: A Life in Letters (English)
  • Mzoli Mavimbela, Masibuyel’embo Konakele Phina Na? (isiXhosa)

Literary Translators Award

  • Jeff Opland and Peter T Mtuze, Iimbali Zamandulo: Stories of the Past (1838–1910) (isiXhosa)

Novel Award

  • Fred Khumalo, Ngenxa yeMendi (isiZulu)
  • Ezra Mcebisi Nkohla, Zajik’ Izinto (isiXhosa)

Literary Journalism Award

  • Jean Meiring (Body of work)

Chairperson’s Literary Award

  • Ntongela Masilela (Body of work)

Lifetime Achievement Literary Award

  • Lefifi Tlali (Body of work)

Regional Poet Laureate Prize

  • Ronelda Kamfer (Afrikaans, Body of work)
  • Themba Patrick Magaisa (Xitsonga, Body of work)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *