[The JRB Daily] 2019 South African Literary Awards winners announced—The JRB collects three

The 2019 South African Literary Awards winners were announced tonight at a gala ceremony in Johannesburg, with The JRB’s nominees—Editor Jennifer Malec, City Editor Niq Mhlongo and Editorial Advisory Panel member and regular contributor Wamuwi Mbao—each collecting an award.

Malec and Mbao co-won the Literary Journalism Award, for their respective bodies of work, mainly as reflected in their reviews and essays for The JRB; and Mhlongo won the Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award, for his short story collection Soweto, Under the Apricot Tree.

The JRB extends congratulations to all winners—especially Jennifer, Niq and Wamuwi!

Here is the complete list of the 2019 SALA winners:

Category: Children’s Literature Award

WinnerBook titleLanguage
Lebohang MasangoMpumi’s Magic BeadsEnglish

Category: Youth Literature Award

WinnerBook titleLanguage
Sally PartridgeMineEnglish

Category: First-time Published Literary Award

WinnerBook titleLanguage
The Man Who Founded the ANC:
A Biography of Pixley Ka Isaka Seme

Category: Poetry Award

Author Book title Language
Tony UllyattAn Unobtrusive ViceEnglish
Nathan TrantraalAlles het niet kom wôd Afrikaans
Ayanda BillieUmhlaba UmanziisiXhosa

Category: K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award

WinnerBook titleLanguage
Chase RhysKinnesAfrikaans

Category: Novel Award

WinnersBook titleLanguage
Die ongelooflike onskuld van Dirkie VerweyAfrikaans
Moletlo wa ManongSetswana

Category: Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award

WinnerBook titleLanguage
Niq MhlongoSoweto, Under the Apricot TreeEnglish

Category: Creative Non-Fiction Literary Award

WinnerBook titleLanguage
As by Fire:
The End of the South African University

Category: Literary Translator’s Award

Michiel HeynsBuys and Red DogAfrikaans to English

Category: Literary Journalism Award

Winners Publications Language
Jennifer MalecBody of workEnglish
Wamuwi MbaoBody of workEnglish

Category: Lifetime Achievement Award

Louise SmitBody of workAfrikaans
Cornelius Tennyson Daniel (CTD) Marivate Body of workXitsonga

Winner: Posthumous Literary Award

Cyril Lincoln Sibusiso Nyembezi

Winner: Chairperson’s Award

Lindiwe Mabuza
Header image: Jennifer Malec collects her SALA for Literary Journalism, along with Outlwile Tsipane and Efemia Chela, who received the awards on behalf of Niq Mhlongo and Wamuwi Mbao, respectively. Photo: Simon van Schalkwyk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *